so i’ve been thinking… the name of this blog doesn’t really apply any more. it really doesn’t matter since i doubt anyone reads it anyway, but it’s been bothering me nonetheless.

lately, my life has been equal to thesis; make that less than or equal to thesis–that’s more accurate. this site has been become where i just talk about my thesis, not just a way to document things i like that influence my work or not. it’s not like my thesis is my favorite thing. i do not prance around my room during thunderstorms and sing about my thesis.

so what i am going to talk about is dialectics. yes, it relates to my thesis, but it also explains why i am attracted to the things i like. a lot of my appreciation of thing in life is predicated on the fact that the thing is in opposition to something else, for example, a hot caffeinated beverage on a shitty late february day. don’t get me wrong–coffee alone is awesome, but the contrast of a steamy, delicious hot drink with a wretched, overcast, cold day makes the coffee the best thing in the world.

the best drink i ever had was the glass of ginger ale after i had the stomach flu. lying down in the ER, dehydrated and miserable, a nurse told me that the medicine i was taking should have kicked in and i could drink something and keep it down. she handed me a tiny cup of ginger ale and it was like sipping heaven. i never realized how much i love ginger ale. the next time i had the opportunity, i bought a ginger ale and was so disappointed by its mediocrity. i couldn’t appreciate the sweetness of the cold ginger ale to such an extreme extent without having been in such a horrible condition in the first place.

i don’t want this thesis to make people throw up, or feel sick or uncomfortable in any way, but i do want it to make people appreciate or understand spaces based on their opposites. a better word for the type of opposite that i am thinking about is dialectic.

dialectic, n.

1 a. the hegelian process of change in which a concept or its realization passes over into and is preserved and fulfilled by its opposite

b. development through the stages of thesis, antithesis, and synthesis in accordance with the laws of dialectical materialism

2. any systematic reasoning, exposition, or argument that juxtaposes opposed or contradictory ideas and usually seeks to resolve their conflict

3. the dialectical tension or opposing between two interacting forces or elements

